Adventures in DIY Party Decor

Personalized, handmade party decorations may seem intimidating at first, but there are fun and frugal ways to pull it all off. One of the great things about handmade party décor is that it can be as simple or as elaborate as you choose. Ordinary items can be transformed into something new and charming. 

As an example of how easy and fun it can be to make party décor by hand, I’d like to share some of the items that I created for Sarah’s recent Alice in Wonderland themed birthday party.

First, I made flowers out of coffee filters by collecting several of them, cutting small holes in the centers, and layering them onto floral wire. I twisted the filters as I went, to help shape them. I also used tape to help secure them firmly in place.

Handmade party decor theme alice in wonderland DIY_1

Buntings and streamers are adorable and super simple to make. All you really need is a printer, a pair of scissors, and some string or yarn. I’ve made several of these; some with the traditional triangle, flag-shaped pieces and some with rectangle or round pieces. For this Alice in Wonderland bunting, I decided to emphasize the illustrations by making them a little larger and using fewer of them. I affixed each printed image to a length of twine using decorative floral clothespins that I bought on clearance.

Handmade party decor theme alice in wonderland DIY_2

I also made a regular floral bunting, with triangle flag-shaped pieces that read “Happy Birthday.” I added a couple paper flowers that I picked up at the local craft store for $1 a package.

Handmade party decor theme alice in wonderland DIY_3

 

Handmade party decor theme alice in wonderland DIY_4

Lastly, I made a personalized card to go along with the party’s theme. I usually enjoy making cards that are a little more elaborate, however, I was able to put one of my rubber stamps to good use for this simple card, which ended up being a cute little addition to the party’s theme. I used two quotes from Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland; one for the front of the card and another for the inside.

Handmade party decor theme alice in wonderland DIY_5

Handmade party decor theme alice in wonderland DIY_6

Overall, the party was decorated simply but also with far more charm than the typical streamer-and-balloon set up. I had fairly elaborate decorating ideas but found that the décor worked just fine for the small-ish space where the party was held.

Scrapbook paper and twine go a long way when making your own party décor. There are countless ideas online, and most can be simplified in some way or another. The options are endless!

Leave a Reply

