Easy & Delicious Stove Top Popcorn (that just happens to be vegan)!

Coconut oil popcorn stove top popcorn easy recipe

I have heard from several friends, and have read on several web sites, that stove top popcorn made with coconut oil is delicious and easy. I’ve always been interested in trying it for myself, but for some reason, never got around to it until now. I have an air popper, and I usually add butter and salt to my popcorn after it’s popped. After being recommended the coconut oil version once again just last week, I decided to finally give it a try.

I took notes from the recommendation that I received, and also looked up methods and other recipes online. I ended up with my own recipe, constructed from different tips and methods that I read about. I am not only completely satisfied with how easy and delicious this popcorn is, but I am also excited to have found a new way to enjoy popcorn that is vegan friendly. In the past, I’ve had issues with the smoke point of coconut oil, so I was a little bit apprehensive about using it for stove top popcorn. To my very pleasant surprise, this was not even slightly an issue!

Try it for yourself and see! Here’s how:

Coconut oil popcorn stove top popcorn easy recipe_3    Coconut oil popcorn stove top popcorn easy recipe_5    Coconut oil popcorn stove top popcorn easy recipe_2

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 Cup popcorn kernels
  • 1 Tablespoon coconut oil
  • A generous pinch of salt, adjusted to taste

Also needed: A deep pot with a lid, and a bowl for serving.

Instructions:

  • Add coconut oil to pot and turn heat on to medium. Just after the coconut oil is fully melted, add four popcorn kernels, and put the lid on the pot.
  • Wait until these first four kernels pop. When they do, remove the lid and add the remaining kernels and a generous dash of salt. Replace the lid, but tilt it slightly to one side to vent the steam a little. This helps retain a crisp texture.
  • Give the pot a shake or two as the kernels continue to pop.
  • Once the popping slows down considerably, remove the pot from heat and turn off the burner. Remove lid, dump popcorn into a serving bowl, add more salt or other seasonings as desired, and enjoy!

Note: This recipe makes enough for about one person, or two people that just want a very light snack. For larger amounts, I would either recommend popping in batches, or using a larger pot and doubling the ingredients. Just make sure that there is plenty of room in the pot for the kernels to bounce around.

Leave a Reply

