Photography by Heather Shane

Up next in our Creative Spotlight is Heather Shane of Heather Shane Photography! Heather is a photographer in southern California specializing in portraits, lifestyle, and craft photography. She is passionate about the beauty of humanity, and strives to promote love and happiness by delivering moving, meaningful images to all of her clients. We sat down with Heather and gained more insight on her creative process.Heather Shane Photography_4  Heather Shane Photography_3Heather Shane Photography_6  Heather Shane Photography_5  Heather Shane Phography_1

Heather Shane Photography_2

 

How long have you been a photographer?

I picked up photography as a hobby seven years ago. I feel like I just officially became a photographer last year though when I started my photography business.

What subjects inspire you the most and why?

People, totally. I see beauty in every single person, and I love showing people how beautiful they are. Everyone is so different, and we all have stories to tell that can be told through photographs. I am also really inspired by weddings and all of the beauty, attention to detail, and love that is involved.

You’ve done several shoots that showcase people’s beauty and emotion. What is it that you enjoy the most about photographing people?

I love being able to show people pictures of themselves when they are laughing so hard at a joke that someone they love told them, or a look that someone has when they look at someone they really care about. I love capturing someone and being able to make them feel good about themselves and the way they look. I love showing people how truly beautiful they are. A lot of us are so hard on ourselves, and just can’t see what everyone else sees.

What artist(s), photographer or otherwise, do you admire? How have they influenced your work?

When I first got into photography I learned with film, and I really got into Francesca Woodman’s work. I don’t really know if she has influenced my work at all. I can’t really see a direct reflection in my work, but she was someone I always went back to admire. She did a lot of self portrait photography, and her images are just wild to me. Right now I am totally inspired by Jasmine Star. I love her style so much! I think she is definitely influencing my work, just by the way that she truly captures beautiful, genuine moments.

You’re such a creatively talented person with many different interests, and you work with a lot of color and texture. Which of your other hobbies do you think ties back into your photography in one way or another, and how?

Thank you! I do have a lot of hobbies. I am really into crafts. My favorites are cross stitching, crocheting, sewing, and art journaling. I think that all of my hobbies can tie back into photography in that you have to imagine the big picture to figure out how to get there before you start.

What would you say has been your biggest challenge in growing as a photographer?

Letting myself be so vulnerable. I put my heart into my work, and then I put it out into the world to be judged. This was hard at first, but it has become easier. Not everyone is going to like the way I see the world but, what can ya do?

What has been your greatest accomplishment so far, (and/or your favorite shoot)?

My greatest accomplishment so far has been to book my first wedding! Over the moon excited about it!

What advice would you give to an aspiring photographer that might be just starting down this new path?

Be patient and take as many photos as you can. That is the best advice that I got when I first started, too.

Thank you for taking the time to talk with us!

The pleasure was all mine! Thank you! ❤

Find more of Heather Shane’s work at heathershanephotography.com and facebook.com/heathershanephotography

Heather Shane of Heather Shane Photography
Heather Shane of Heather Shane Photography
Leave a Reply

